9.02.2014

It's my Birthday! + #Giveaway + Facts about me


Wow I am truly getting old! It's my last year in my twenties heck it's so sad I can't even say the number. Anyways I'm accepting it and I am grateful that I'm here to see another day. I've realized that all the years I've been blogging I've barely wrote much about anything personal so I figured I would do a 29 facts about me and then on to the giveaway!

1. I was born in the Fijian Islands which also means my bday over there was yesterday since they are a day ahead of the States.

2. I am an only child - no I was never lonely or wished I had siblings although being an only child has contributed to how independent and stubborn I was growing up.

3. I've never been to a concert.

4. I live in California and I love the Minnesota Vikings! So I'm always the odd one out when everyone is wearing there Niners, Raiders or Charger jerseys.

5. I served in the U.S. Navy. I didn't tell anyone I was going to join, one day after classes I went and signed up and then told everyone.

6. I eloped when I was 20 been married now for 9 years this year.

7. It took me over a year to memorize my cell phone number and the only reason I finally did is because my gym has the cardless check in system where I have to input my phone number every time I go.

8. I've read so many books but none that has made me literally cry.

9. My first love is books my second love is makeup.

10. I would love to learn how to make Jewelry, every time I go to an arts and crafts store I have this sudden urge to get creative but never know where to start.

11. I love rainy and gloomy days.

12. Big Bang Theory! The only show I can watch episodes on repeat and still laugh every single time.

13. I'm 5'3. Yes I'm short AND Yes I need a stepping stool to reach all the shelves high up in the kitchen.

14. Halloween is my favorite holiday. 

15. I live less then five miles away from a water theme park and I've never been.

16. I practiced Martial Arts for 12 years.

17. It took me years to decide what my favorite color was...I settled on purple.

18. I never really read the YA genre until I picked up Twilight which by the way I hated all the movies to but own every single one on dvd which brings me to my next one...

19. Every book I've ever read that was made into a movie I have to own the dvd to it.

20. I once had the leading role in a play and performed in front of over 2,500 people.

 21. I own two kindles and a nook.

22. I'm not a phone person...I'll text before I pick up the phone and call.

 23. I always start a new book at night when I know I wont have any distractions.

24. I take out a whole month every year to re-read some of my favorite books.

25. The first time I went to Disneyland I was 19 and I rode Space Mountain like ten times over..needless to say majority of my day was spent on that ride or in the line to get on the ride.

26. I have a dog who is a black lab/border collie/and something else that I named Disney :)

27. I hate yogurt.

28. I love Amazon Prime, I like the idea of getting my books within two days of ordering it even though I may not read it for months after the fact.

29. When out shopping I compare prices of things I want to buy to books, so for example if I'm about to buy something for x amount of dollars I think about all the books I can buy instead.





Now if you actually read all that then major props to you :)

Anyways on to the Giveaway

This is International ( in this case anywhere The Book Depository ships)

I am giving away a $25 Gift Card from Amazon or if I have a winner who lives in another awesome country that I probably would love to visit one day they will have their choice of books from The Book Depository of up to $25.

To Enter just fill out the rafflecopter below





a Rafflecopter giveaway

9.01.2014

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

    An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

    Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.
 


    Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

    First Line: "Winter had come again, and She lurked in the frozen crevices."

    Review: The Winter People was about Salome Montgomery and as insane as it sounds she fears winter. She had a accident when she was very young and due to the things she saw and heard has been living a life of fear when Winter rolls around.

     I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book even when I realized that this book had not a love triangle but a quadrangle and I was skeptical I already was dealing with the love triangle and when the third guy came into the picture I started to really doubt I was going to enjoy this book but what can I say it was done in a way which didn't annoy me so it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book, and it did help that there was one guy I fell head over heels for and was so glad she ended up with him in the end.

    One thing I liked about The Winter People was that we as the reader are kept in the dark about everything just like Salome, although at times I did get pissed off at the people around her because due to a curse they were not allowed to tell her anything she had to figure it out all on her own, well except for Gareth since he isn't cursed he was able to help her more then the others. Speaking of the curse the one thing that brought this book down for me a little bit was the fact that I didn't feel like Salome did much in terms of truly investigating and finding out how to break the curse and then bam! at the end she just figured it out at the most crucial point of the book.

    I was not able to tear myself away from this novel and barely gave anyone the time of day and one of the main reasons for that besides having an interesting plot was the writing, Purdy has a very beautiful way of writing and describing the world which was created in The Winter People that I was able to picture everything in my head with ease and almost felt like I was there.

     Overall great read and can't wait for it to come out so I can grab myself a physical copy the cover is gorgeous and goes so well with the book.



    Memorable Quotes:

    ~"Right, great idea-spooky woods, fog, graveyard. Might as well just put dumb ass stamp on my forehead. How many scary movies had I seen over the years where I yelled at the stupid actresses for going into places they shouldn't? And here I was, playing the stupid actress."


    ~"Being good is overrated."

    ~"Here's a game lesson, Salome. Never trust anybody to make your decisions for you."

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...